Entry tags:
Lightning-round SE 90/Not! 9 spoilers
The most important spoiler, obviously, is that this month's GanGan included the results of the earth-shatteringly important reader poll titled "Which Soul Eater character would you wish to be a part of your family?"
And somehow or other, Kid won.
Really, fandom? Really? You want to be related to that?!
And now for some less interesting spoilers.
Everybody going on the moon mission is saying their last farewells and writing final letters to their loved ones. THIS IS INSPIRING A LOT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE LIKELIHOOD OF ANYBODY SURVIVING THE MISSION. Um.
Liz says that other than Kid or Patty there's nobody that she would want to give her final letter to, and they're both going on the mission. So there's no point in writing a letter.
Black Star says that although he wants to go on the kishin mission for the glory + reputation points, he's going to do the adult thing and go on the Spartoi mission that he was requested to go on instead. Aw Black Star, you've grown up so much.
Spirit is a huge dork and has a big huge dorky dork-dad moment with Maka.
Spirit is going on the mission too. Before he leaves, Big Daddy tells him that Kid's "awakening" is essential if they have any hope of victory over Asura.
Maka realizes that Crona is hiding out in the church where they first met. Proving once again that Maka is the most intelligent character in this manga. (Which I realize is damning with faint praise, but still.)
Medusa is with Crona. Kind of. I don't know. It might very well be Crona hallucinating, à la Stein. Anyway, the point is that I think Ohkubo is supposed to be drawing both parallels and contrasts wrt: the Spirit/Maka relationship and the Medusa/Crona relationship. But maybe I'm giving Ohkubo too much credit.
NOT! SPOILERS:It's mostly about Akane this month. The end. LOL this is the risk of repeating spoilers gleaned from 2ch. Akane isn't even *IN* Not! this month, and the only thing that happens is that Kana does a card reading for Jackie. A+ 2ch troll, would LOL again. SON OF ETA: Or I guess there was a nugget of truth to that after all, since Akane and Clay appear in chapter 90 this month!
PS - As usual, this month's new color illustrations (all six of them!) are all over the GanGan website and at shibusen.
And somehow or other, Kid won.
Really, fandom? Really? You want to be related to that?!
And now for some less interesting spoilers.
Everybody going on the moon mission is saying their last farewells and writing final letters to their loved ones. THIS IS INSPIRING A LOT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE LIKELIHOOD OF ANYBODY SURVIVING THE MISSION. Um.
Liz says that other than Kid or Patty there's nobody that she would want to give her final letter to, and they're both going on the mission. So there's no point in writing a letter.
Black Star says that although he wants to go on the kishin mission for the glory + reputation points, he's going to do the adult thing and go on the Spartoi mission that he was requested to go on instead. Aw Black Star, you've grown up so much.
Spirit is a huge dork and has a big huge dorky dork-dad moment with Maka.
Spirit is going on the mission too. Before he leaves, Big Daddy tells him that Kid's "awakening" is essential if they have any hope of victory over Asura.
Maka realizes that Crona is hiding out in the church where they first met. Proving once again that Maka is the most intelligent character in this manga. (Which I realize is damning with faint praise, but still.)
Medusa is with Crona. Kind of. I don't know. It might very well be Crona hallucinating, à la Stein. Anyway, the point is that I think Ohkubo is supposed to be drawing both parallels and contrasts wrt: the Spirit/Maka relationship and the Medusa/Crona relationship. But maybe I'm giving Ohkubo too much credit.
NOT! SPOILERS:
PS - As usual, this month's new color illustrations (all six of them!) are all over the GanGan website and at shibusen.

no subject
Very tiny probably irrelevant and hardly a shippage moment but it made me say D'AW anyway. Thank god Liz and Patti going on the mission too. I was going to flip tables if they didn't.
Sounds like theres going to be some dramatic shit going down, which would be nice. Cmon Ohkubo, redeem yourself! d(><)b
and LOL Kidd winning that contest ahahahahhaaa ahahaha ahaha omg I think I just choked on my trachea.
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-09-13 12:01 am (UTC)(link)Crona's hiding out in the church? Am I the only one who thinks that this just may be symbolic of something? Maybe it's just me.
And Black*Star finally got a big spotlight in the spinoff series.
no subject
It's quite obviously symbolic of something, so no, it's not just you.
Kid winning.
(Anonymous) 2011-09-13 12:11 am (UTC)(link)-kimi-
no subject
no subject
no subject
Oh Spirit please don't get hurt, you're a horny bastard but you're not a bad dad overall ;__;
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-14 22:22 (UTC) - Expand(no subject)
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-15 01:28 (UTC) - Expand(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
no subject
And I completely agree about Kid. I also live part of my life as Kid - diagnosed and medicated, thank you very much - and I wouldn't wish a mental illness like this on anybody's family tree.
no subject
After that they didn't rank the most popular answers, but Black Star, Kim, Soul, and Shinigami-sama were also popular answers.
Thanks for the spoilers!
(Anonymous) 2011-09-13 08:32 am (UTC)(link)This month looks like a cute chapter, with all the goodbyes and final letters... Even though I'm still disappointed at the lack of affect between Kid and Big Daddy. By now I'm pretty sure they're not even going to talk about anything other than the mission (if they talk to each other at all) U___U
Anyway thanks for the spoilers! ^^ (LOL first time writing that)
Re: Thanks for the spoilers!
no subject
That's the kind of moment I was just hoping for. Suddenly my interest for this chapter increased.
Now if Ohkubo can give troika some pretty moment instead of the fail Kid's development has become I would be happy enough.
no subject
So, Spirit is joining Kid, Liz, and Patty on the Kishin mission? If there's three weapons for one meister, am I being too hopeful to think that this could open up a possibility for some Meister!Patty action? :D
no subject
no subject
As for the rest...I do wonder if Kid will be writing a letter to Big Daddy, i'd love to see what it says...also if he can get past just writing his name symmetrically (anime reference) But yeah...obviously everyone feels good about this one...
So of course Maka will go to Crona, so maybe seeing Maka will help? or be horrible, i can't tell which right now. It's sad she's the smartest chatacter...sorta...
no subject
Looks like the Maka/Crona battle is gonna be awesome~! X3 Can't wait.
….Oh yeah, and the………moon battle, too. I don't know. I just think I'll like the Maka/Chrona battle better :3 (Even though Chrona will most likely die. But still.)
Thank you~!!! ^_____^
no subject
Chapter sounds good!!!!Cannot wait!
no subject
Well, the chapter sounds a step up from redundant disappointment that been happening for a while. Troika hints, as minor as they seem, are still hints. And as another mentioned, I'd be interested in knowing what Kidd wrote, knowing it's probably addressed to Big Daddy.
And NOT's only got Akane this month ( not that I'm complaining but... ) I'd like to see more about Shaula, or Clay even. Still, you've only given preliminary spoilers, so it'll obviously go into more than just Akane this month... right?
But thank you all the same for the spoilers C:
no subject
So, yay!
You Know Who
(Anonymous) 2011-09-17 11:08 am (UTC)(link)I wanna see that but I can't find where it is.Too bad~
Oh hey? Why "all six of them!"? Aren't there seven people in the gang? Who miss this time?
Anyway, this month's scan is too damn slow!!!T^T I'm gonna die from waiting.
Re: You Know Who
I have no idea who you are, actually. But hi!
I wanna see that but I can't find where it is.Too bad~
Uhhhh I linked to the tag that says "manga covers" (http://shibusen.livejournal.com/tag/manga%3A%20covers) and I don't know how I could possibly make it more obvious than that. The first four posts are all this month's illustrations.
You know those colored words are links, right? And you have to click on the links to see the pictures.
Oh hey? Why "all six of them!"? Aren't there seven people in the gang? Who miss this time?
Er, no. There are six images this month, but that doesn't mean six characters. The images are: SE Volume 20 cover (Medusa), SE Not! Volume 01 cover (Tsugumi+Anya+Me-Me), GanGan cover (Black Star), SE color manga page, SE color spread (Maka+moon), and the Not! color page (which isn't even a picture this month, it's just the series logo).
Anyway, this month's scan is too damn slow!!!T^T I'm gonna die from waiting.
LOL @ you.
not wut?
(Anonymous) 2011-09-17 03:54 pm (UTC)(link)wtf
Re: not wut?
The spoilers about Not! that I posted here are translated from 2ch, so I guess somebody was trolling and hoping that stupid foreigners would take the bait. I guess it worked, so hats off to them.
no subject
SE not! has already been translated now, and still no raw from SE.
If only importing Shônen gangan in France wasn't THAT expensive.... -_- (already did once, and no going to do it again until I get lots of money out of nowhere)
And the arc was getting interesting....I'm eager to see the confrontation with Crona.
no subject
Because normally there are, like, all of two people in the fandom who scan and release raws. I'm assuming that this month neither of them could scan the raws. Now somebody out there on the internet HAS scanned the magazine already, but those scans went straight to scanslation groups and haven't been shared with the rest of us. :(
I have a copy of the magazine coming to me sometime next week. If push comes to shove I can scan my copy, but hopefully somebody else will release raws before then.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-09-17 09:47 pm (UTC)(link)no subject
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-18 18:18 (UTC) - ExpandYou Know Who
(Anonymous) 2011-09-19 01:05 pm (UTC)(link)Re: You Know Who
Also, hi, this is still a public post and the rule here always has been and always will be that we do not talk about
Fight Clubscanslations. Because of the livejournal TOS.Sorry to use you as an example, mousey, but yours is the fourth comment that I've gotten today informing me that a scanslation of chapter 90 is available. Y'all don't need to tell me. I KNOW. Also at least you were the only mousey smart enough not to leave a direct link to the scanslation in your comment, so yours is the comment that gets unscreened. ^^;;
Re: You Know Who
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-20 23:43 (UTC) - Expandno subject
(Anonymous) 2011-09-20 12:24 am (UTC)(link)no subject
PS - apparently her name is Agna (http://shibusen.livejournal.com/757073.html)!
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-20 10:48 (UTC) - Expand(no subject)
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-09-21 17:30 (UTC) - Expand